

Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council

800 North State Street, Suite 201, Dover, DE 19901 Phone: 302-674-2331 | FAX: 302-674-5399 | www.mafmc.org Michael P. Luisi, Chairman | P. Weston Townsend, Vice Chairman Christopher M. Moore, Ph.D., Executive Director

M EM O R A ND U M

Date: January 21, 2022

To: Council

From: Brandon Muffley, Council staff

Subject: SSC Membership Re-appointments

On Wednesday, February 9, 2022, as part of the Executive Director's report, the Council will review and consider the re-appointment of existing SSC members. Council SOPPs specify that SSC members shall serve three-year terms and are subject to re-appointment at the discretion of the Council. There are 16 members (out of 20) whose three-year term expires in March 2022 and, therefore, are up for reappointment. All 16 members (listed below) have expressed interest in remaining on the SSC for another three-year term.

As part of the review, Council members can find more information about each SSC member (e.g., education, background, areas of expertise) by reviewing the membership directory – found here **SSC Membership Directory and Short Bios**. Also included is a table showing SSC member attendance for all SSC meetings from 2019 – 2021.

Existing SSC members up for re-appointment include:

Dr. Paul Rago (Chair) Dr. Michael Wilberg (Vice-chair)

Dr. Lee Anderson
Dr. Michael Frisk
Dr. Wendy Gabriel
Dr. Sarah Gaichas
Dr. Mark Holliday
Dr. Edward Houde
Dr. Olaf Jensen
Dr. Yan Jiao
Dr. Cynthia Jones
Dr. Robert Latour
Dr. Brian Rothschild
Dr. David Secor

SSC Meeting Attendance: 2019 - 2021

Name	Start of 3- year term	Feb '19 webinar	March '19 in- person	May '19 in- person	Sept '19 in- person	March '20 hybrid	May '20 webinar	July '20 webinar	Sept '20 webinar	March '21 webinar	May '21 webinar	July '21 webinar	Sept '21 webinar	% of Meetings attended
John Boreman	Mar-19	√ √	 	 	<u>person</u> √	.iybiid ✓	√ VCDIIIdi	√ Vebiliai	√ Vebiliai	webiildi √	webiildi √	√ Vebilial	√ Vebillar	1.00
		V		V	V	∨	√	√	✓	√	√	•	√	
Geret DePiper	Mar-20				-									0.88
Tom Miller	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Lee Anderson	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Gavin Fay	Mar-20						✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.88
Michael Frisk	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓		0.83
Wendy Gabriel	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓		✓	0.83
Sarah Gaichas	Mar-19		✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.83
Mark Holliday	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓		0.83
Jorge Holzer	Mar-20					✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Ed Houde	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Olaf Jensen	Mar-19		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.92
Yan Jiao	Mar-19	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.92
Cynthia Jones	Mar-19	✓			✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.75
Robert Latour	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	0.92
Paul Rago	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Brian Rothschild	Mar-19		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.92
David Secor	Mar-19	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	1.00
Alexei Sharov	Mar-20					✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓		✓	0.88
Michael Wilberg	Mar-19	✓	✓		✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	✓	0.92
Total participating per		13	15	12	14	17	20	20	19	20	20	17	18	

meeting